Mashiketa!

Korean food blogger ZenKimchi weights in with “100 Korean Foods You Gotta Try.” FatManSeoul, another great Korean food blog, only has six more dishes to go!

It’s actually a little gratifying to see that I’ve sampled more Korean dishes in a few weeks than I expected.  It helps that they’ve got a lot of different types of alcohol listed.

Update: Well, why not give it a go?

Here’s the complete list.  It’s arbitrary, as these things tend to be, but overall it looks like a pretty good sampling of Korean grub on both ends of the economic spectrum.  I showed it to my boss over dinner tonight (again, he ordered in ddeokbokki for all of us) and he approved as well.  And it turns out there were at least five items on the list I had eaten, but just didn’t know it.  Thank you Teacher Daniel!

I’ll update it as I go along my merry way in Korea.  It actually seems like a pretty fun challenge.

ZenKimchi’s list:

1.    Myeolchi Bokkeum (Stir-fried Anchovies)

This sounded good to me, and then my boss gently reminded me that I’d had it a few times.  It’s little baby fish that are salted and fried up.  It’s more like a condiment than it is a dish in itself.  Make sure you make out with people before you eat it, because they won’t want to after.

2.    Samgyetang (Ginseng Chicken Soup)

3.    Bulgogi (Grilled Marinated Beef)

This is what you’d typically get in the States if you went out for Korean.  It’s even better here, especially with the myriad side dishes you’ll inevitably be sampling.

4.    BulDalk (Burn-your-pants-off Spicy Grilled Chicken)

My boss says it isn’t that spicy, but he’s Korean and therefore not a very good judge.  Yeah, it’s hot.  Not something you’d want to eat before going hiking.

5.    DalkBal (Spicy Chicken Feet)

I had something like this in Thailand.  I have to try it here as well.

6.    Korean Fried Chicken

There’s a local place that does a dish that they themselves call “Popcorn Chicken.”  It’s delicious and very spicy.  What’s great about it is that there’s no greasiness to it, just pure crunchy goodness.

7.    Dalk Galbi (Stir-fried Marinated Chicken and Veggies)

8.    San Nakji, chopped (Semi-live Baby Octopus)

If it touches your lip there’s a chance a sucker will latch on.  Pretty good, but after dipping it into some gochujang it pretty much tastes like gochujang.

9.    San Nakji, whole (Live Octopus)

I’ve been told the one eaten in Old Boy was bigger than it should have been.

10.    Sundubu Jjigae (Soft Tofu Stew)

11.    Juk (Rice Porridge)

Had this a few times with my kids during their morning snack time.

12.    Galbi (Grilled Short Ribs)

Awesome.  Very hearty.

13.    Galbitang (Short Rib Soup)

14.    Shinseollo (Fancy Hot Pot)

15.    Gobchang Gui (Grilled Beef Intestines)

16.    Seng Gan (Raw Beef Liver)

My boss made this one a special recommendation.  It’s high up on my to-do list now.

17.    Galbi Jjim (Stewed Ribs)

18.    Bossam (Steamed Marinated Pork with Lettuce Wraps)

Had this last Friday night, actually.  You wrap up a piece of pork with some spicy brown sauce and some sliced garlic, and it’s great.

19.    Japchae (Clear Noodles Stir-fried with Pork and Vegetables)

20.    Jaeyuk Bokkeum (Spicy Stir-fried Pork)

21.    Kimchi Jjim (Stewed Kimchi with Tofu)

22.    Ddong Jip (Chicken Gizzards)

23.    Odeng/Eomuk (Street-side Fish Noodles)

24.    Hoddeok (Stuffed Street-side Pastries)

25.    GeiJang (Raw Fermented Crabs)

Another recommendation from my boss.

26.    Hongeo (Fermented Skate)

27.    Gochujang Samgyeopsal (Grilled Pork Belly Smothered in Red Pepper Paste)

Gochujang is the red pepper paste.  I have a bunch of it in my fridge right now.  If you think you’re tough for adding Tabasco to everything, you ain’t tried nuthin’.

28.    Lotteria’s Shrimp Burger

My interest is piqued.

29.    Sae-u Kang (Shrimp Flavored “Fries”)

Had these last Friday as well at norae-bang (karaoke).

30.    Doenjang Jjigae (Fermented Bean Paste Stew)

31.    Cheonggukjang (Stinky Fermented Bean Paste Stew)

32.    Boshintang (Dog Soup)

My boss wasn’t happy to see this one.  It’s a touchy subject in the ROK but yes, you can find it and no I haven’t tried it.

33.    Seonji Haejangguk (Hangover Stew with Clotted Cow Blood)

Another recommendation.

34.    Ddeokbokki (Chewy Rice Cakes in Spicy Sauce)

Actually had this tonight.  It kind of looks like Korean spaghetti, since it’s a noodle dish with a red sauce.  Totally different flavor, of course.

35.    YukHui (Raw Beef Salad)

36.    MiyeokGuk (Seaweed Soup)

37.    Mae-eunTang (Spicy Fish Soup)

38.    Nakji Bokkeum (Stir-fried Baby Octopus)

In a country that adores spicy food, this is apparently as spicy as it gets.

39.    Ojingeo (Dried Cuttlefish)

I think I snacked on a little of this.

40.    Beondaeggi (Silkworm Larvae)

The smell is horrendous.  I’ve gotta try it though.

41.    Golbaenggi (Sea Snails)

Almost bought some of these at the store the other day.

42.    Jangeo Gui (Grilled Eel)

43.    Jaratang (Turtle Soup)

My boss says this is very hard to find.

44.    Bogeo (Blowfish)

45.    Sae-u Sogeum Gui (Salt Grilled Shrimp)

46.    Deodeok Root

47.    BindaeDdeok (Mung Bean Pancake)

48.    Pajeon (Green Onion Pancake)

Not sure why I haven’t tried this one.  You can get them at stalls everywhere.

49.    Bibimbap (Mixed Rice and Vegetables)

Had it Monday in Insadong.  Very tasty, and the rice has a nice little bit of crispiness to it.

50.    Boribap (Mixed Barley Rice and Vegetables)

51.    Marinated Garlic

Pretty good.  A nice side dish.

52.    Patbingsu (Shaved Ice and Red Bean Treat)

Really nice and refreshing.

53.    Dotorimok (Acorn Jelly)

I thought it was flavored tofu when I had it, but it’s a little different.  Very common side-dish.  Clean flavor.

54.    Naengmyeon (Chilled Noodles)

55.    Makkoli/Dongdongju (Rice Beer)

Tried this last Friday.  I like it, but even many Koreans don’t.  It tastes a little sour.  And I was told dongongju is actually made a bit differently than makkoli.

56.    Bokbunja (Raspberry Wine)

My boss laughed at this one.  A girlie drink?

57.    Soju (Rice Whiskey)

Yeah, you can’t get very far here without having some soju.  And I thought it was made from potatoes now.  It tastes a little like vodka but nothing like sake.

58.    Andong Soju (Strong Rice Whiskey from the Andong Region)

59.    Jogae Gui (Grilled Shellfish)

60.    Haepari (Jellyfish)

61.    Gyeran Jjim (Steamed Egg)

62.    Corn Ice Cream

63.    Dolsot Bibimbap (Mixed Rice and Vegetables in a Sizzling Stone Pot)

Did I have this Monday?  It was served in a stone dish, but mine had squid and pork belly pieces.

64.    Mandu (Stuffed Dumplings)

Had these tonight as well with my ddeokbokki.  I like.

65.    Ddeokguk (Chewy Rice Cake Soup)

66.    Songpyeon (Stuffed Chewy Rice Cakes)

Made these with my kids for Chuseok.  Bland.

67.    Hot Bar (Fried Fish Batter Street Food)

68.    Shikhye (Sweet Rice Punch)

Had this before norae-bang.  Not bad, but not something I’d order for myself.

69.    Any product with Green Tea in it

Does green tea count?  Sure it does.

70.    Gujeolpan (Nine-section Dish)

71.    Yogurt Soju Cocktail

72.    Baechu Kimchi (Cabbage Kimchi)

Like soju, ubiquitous.

73.    Any Kimchi that’s over 3 years old

74.    Baek Kimchi (White Cabbage Kimchi)

Sure, this is what the little guys eat.  It isn’t spicy at all.

75.    Shake-’em-up Dosirak

76.    Mul Kimchi (Water Kimchi)

Yup.  And you’re supposed to drink the water itself for extra vitamins and goodness.

77.    Oi Sobagi (Stuffed Cucumber Kimchi)

78.    Ggakdugi (Cubed Radish Kimchi)

Yes.  My boss’ mother makes it and sends it in for our lunches.

79.    Sae-u Jeot (Salted Tiny Shrimp)

Forgotten I’d had this at dinner last Friday.  Very salty, as named.

80.    Myeongran Jeot (Salted Pollack Roe)

81.    Changran Jeot (Salted Pollack Guts)

My boss wants me to try this!

82.    Ssamjang (Mixed Soybean and Pepper Paste)

83.    Kalguksu (Hand-cut Noodle Soup)

84.    Ramyeon (Ramen Noodles) in a Tin Pot

Ramyeon, yes, but the simple store-bought kind.

85.    Entire Hui Meal (Korean style Sashimi)

86.    Gimbap (Seaweed Rice Rolls)

Pretty much every day since I’ve been here.  Not as much vinegar in the rice as sushi, but the same concept.

87.    Jokbal (Pigs Feet)

88.    Sundae (Blood and Noodle Sausage)

Supposedly great.

89.    Yeot (Traditional Korean Candy)

90.    Naengi (Shepherd’s Purse)

91.    Kimchi Jjigae (Kimchi Stew)

92.    Budae Jjigae (“Army Base” Stew, traditionally including hot dogs and Spam)

93.    Agu Jjim (Stewed Monkfish)

94.    Haemultang (Seafood Soup)

Might have had this at chuseok dinner.

95.    Nurungji (Hot Water Mixed with Rice Scrapings in a Stone Pot)

Better than it sounds, kind of like a tea.  Had some before dinner in a traditional Korean restaurant.

96.    Sujebi (Rustic Dumpling Soup)

97.    Janchi Guksu (Thin Noodles in a Seaweed Broth with Condiments)

98.    BungeoBbang (Goldfish-shaped Stuffed Pastry)

There’s a hawker of these right next to my school.  They’re filled with red bean paste, apparently, not fish.

99.    Raw Ginseng or anything with Ginseng in it

I had some ginseng tea that kicked my butt with raw chunks in it.  I’m gonna say that counts.

100.    MakHui (Chilled Sashimi Soup)

This entry was posted in Korea. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mashiketa!

  1. FatManSeoul says:

    five more dishes to go . . . fatman finally sank teeth into sinseollo^^

  2. Jaim says:

    Mmm. Sounds good. I’ve got easy access to a few of the things listed above, but I’ve been so beat from work that I’m relying on Homever food court for my nourishment, mostly.

    Interestingly enough, the hottest thing I’ve eaten in Korea (noodles with shrimp and squid) came from the Homever food court! I think this waeguk-in scared a few innocent children there with my sweating and coughing. A co-worker was kind enough to bring me about eight cups of water and say soothing things.

Leave a comment