ESL / EFL / EIL / ELF

E.S.L.: English as a second language, meaning students will be speaking English outside of the classroom.  Think of exchange students as the most obvious examples.

E.F.L.: English as a foreign language, meaning students only speak English in the classroom, and rarely outside of it.  Think of non-English major Korean students like the ones I teach here in lurvely Daegu.

E.I.L.: English as an international language, a newer acronym which implies English is going to be spoken in almost all situations where a second language is required.

E.L.F.: English as lingua franca, which is similar to E.I.L. but implies a situation where two people who need to communicate are forced to use English.  Sort of the pessimistic / somewhat less colonial version of E.I.L.

And this, friends, is how I spent my Saturday.  I do feel like I’m making progress though, and I’ve read some pretty interesting, albeit dry, papers on this stuff.

This entry was posted in English, ESL, Language, Teaching. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to ESL / EFL / EIL / ELF

  1. Nona says:

    Apanerptly this is what the esteemed Willis was talkin’ ’bout.

Leave a Reply

