Getting Your Read On In South Korea

I don’t think I’ve ever given a shout-out to What The Book?, a brick-and-mortar bookstore in Seoul that also delivers throughout Korea.  Their selection is really impressive (they had this FFS) and it you’re looking for dead-tree publications they’re going to be your cheapest option outside of hit-and-miss used bookstores (in Daegu, that’s Buy The Book Cafe).

I’d say my reading these days is split pretty evenly between downloads for my iPad (on the subway, in a taxi, on an airplane, in bed) and good old paper and ink (I do a fair amount of reading on my exercise bike, where I don’t want to sweat on my precious iPad).

Anyhow, these guys are great and you should never suffer for a lack of reading material during your time in South Korea.  Delivery is free if you order two or more items, and you can pay with a Korean bank card (have to enter your info in Korean), a foreign card via Paypal, or my favorite, doing a free money transfer via ATM from your Korean bank up to Seoul.  (For some reason my USian bank has never played well with Paypal.)

Anyhow, I’m excited to finish two different trilogies in the next few weeks.

This entry was posted in Books, Korea, South Korea. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

