Liver Strong

Today I learned some interesting Korean.  I was talking to a student about “guts,” and how when you’re talking about food (we are almost always talking about food) guts are the disgusting bits of the animal that you throw away, but guts are also positive when you say “That took guts” or “She has a lot of guts.”

A very rough Korean equivalent would be “Her liver is big” or “Her liver is swollen.”

Turns out, there’s a bunch of Korean expressions based around the liver.

But then I remembered the expression “chopped liver” and managed to confuse my student all to hell.

I do that a lot.

I did stop short of getting into “that took some balls” so I guess I win Teacher of the Year for that.

This entry was posted in English, ESL, Korea, Language, Teaching. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

