Because Korea

Bambino, “Oppa Oppa”

I actually got all of my midterm grading done in a prompt and orderly fashion.  Something must be wrong with me.

Tonight and tomorrow my college is having its annual Fall festival.  Lots of music and loud fireworks are involved.  Tomorrow our English club is having a Halloween party which is also fun.

I know very little about K-Pop, but this is the band performing tonight.  They’re most famous for putting on a “sexy show” for a group of high school boys last summer.

I will never understand the wide gap between Korea’s ostensibly “conservative” attitude towards sex and, in practice, a multi-million dollar Korean music industry that’s basically zero parts music, one part choreography, and three parts booty.

(Have I mentioned that I hate K-pop with the fire of ten thousand suns?)

This entry was posted in ESL, Korea, Music, South Korea, Teaching. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

