Whiny Foreigner Returns!

Is it worth bitching about the insanity of Korean management practices any longer?  No, but I want to.

So last week I entered my semester grades into the university computer system.  This week I’m supposed to wait for students to call me if they think their grade was in error, and then I have about five hours of (needless, redundant, asinine, and useless) paperwork.  Basically, I take the final results from the computer and then hand-write them back onto these stupid roster sheets that will be buried in a vault and never seen again until the FSM returns.

But some wizard in IT decided this would be the perfect week to upgrade us from Windows XP.  That is a good thing.  But the timing meant I didn’t have internet access in my office until just now, and I couldn’t log in to do my (needless, redundant, asinine, and useless) paperwork.

So I was supposed to have Friday off but now I don’t, because Korea.

I swear there’s nothing more sacred in this country than paperwork, and mindless busy work in general.  The appearance and various apparati of being busy trump actually getting things done, always.

This entry was posted in ESL, Korea, South Korea, Teaching, WhinyForeigner. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

