I’m Not Good At Marketing, But I’ll Try!

Mission of Burma, “That’s How I Escaped My Certain Fate”

If WordPress is to be believed, I’ve had a lot of new followers recently.  Thank you!

A short bio: I’m a college instructor teaching English to college students and adults in Daegu, South Korea, the fourth largest city in the country.  It’s a sleepy place and culturally very conservative, kind of the US equivalent of the “heart land” of Korea.  I happen to love it, warts and all.

I love to travel.  Since moving to South Korea in 2008 I’ve been lucky to visit India, Vietnam, Cambodia, Laos, the Philippines, Guam, Hong Kong (not yet to mainland China!), Japan, Bali / Indonesia, and Thailand.  Next week I’m actually headed to Chiang Mai, northern Thailand, for the first time.

I like to take pictures, but I’m still very much an amateur.

I like books and music.

I like sports.  I torture myself by being a fan of, in no certain order, the Baltimore Orioles, the Washington [Name Redacted], the Seattle Seahawks (ahem), the Los Angeles Dodgers, and Everton F.C.  I also love, by association, four-time Korean Baseball Organization champions  the Samsung Lions, based here in lurvely Daegu.  (Korean baseball is awesome.)

Before coming here I taught high school in the U.S. and I didn’t care for it.

I grew up in the Washington, D.C. area which is partly the reason for my interest in USian politics.  I went to college in rural Ohio (Go Lords / Ladies!).  I went to graduate school in Virginia (go Cavs!).

Before moving to Korea I lived in a sleepy meth village called Bellingham, Washington where I made kayaks for nearly a year.

I tweet here.

I tumbl here.  By nature, my tumblr is a bit more random, colorful, stupid, and whiny all at the same time.  I cross-post a fair amount of stuff and still haven’t figured out where my “serious” blog efforts here end and my “zany” stuff on tumblr begins.

“Wet Casements” is a poem by one of my favorite writers, John Ashbery.

Thanks!

This entry was posted in Internet, Teaching, WhinyForeigner. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

