Merry Christmas!

Darlene Love, “Christmas (Baby Please Come Home)”

It’s mildly depressing to admit that I spent Christmas Day in Korea grading final exams, but I did manage to finish them off.  I called my family back in America on my Christmas evening, their Christmas morning, and it sounds like Santa was good to them.

On the 24th I went to three different English academies dressed as Santa (a lot of my adult students are English teachers themselves).  The kids were a little too old to “believe,” but we still had fun singing Christmas songs and playing games.  This is definitely a tradition I could get into, as I’m staying here for at least one more year.

Merry Christmas and happy holidays to you and your family.  Let’s face it — 2014 was about as awful as a year can be, so I think we deserve some good karma for 2015.

Oh, and my Christmas miracle?  Being given a Santa costume that barely, grudgingly fit my 6′ 1” white devil body.  I’m just too big for Korean clothes.

And the performance above absolutely kills.  I’m stoked for Colbert to take over, but Dave is a national treasure.

This entry was posted in Korea, Music. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

