Up The Beach

Last day in Busan before headed back to Daegu tomorrow.  I really like it here, and if I had to do it again I’d probably look for a job in this town.  Daegu is fine in its own way, and Seoul is great big SEOUL and has a lot of everything, but for my money Busan has more of a character to it — a port city, a city where you smell the ocean (among other things), a city that even Koreans will tell you has always been a little more open-minded and migratory than any other.

I have February off, and unlike last winter when I went to India, I have no big plans this time around.  I’m trying to save some money, trying to figure out whether or not 2014, the year of the horse, will be my last here.  Next weekend I’m going with a friend to two southwestern cities, Jeonju and Gwangju, for the first time.  My basic plan is to take day-trips to the places in Korea that have been on my “to do” list since I got here, and of course, relax and prepare for the new semester starting in March.

Finished Dan Fante’s 86’d last night.  Good, but I’ll admit that if you’ve read one of his novels you probably don’t need to read any others.  Insane, pervereted energy, and of course the loser gets his due, although he probably doesn’t deserve it.

Also was asked by a Canadian girl last night if she could give me a hug, becuase “you look like you need one.”  I accepted.

I mean, is it that pathetic for a dude to read a novel on his iPad by his lonesome while drinking a cocktail at 6 p.m.?  Granted, she was with a group of two dozen fellow foreign English teachers who were undoubtedly visiting Busan together as a pack, all at the same long table,  for the long holiday weekend, and I must have stuck out like a dyspeptic monk all by myself at the bar, sipping on my rum and coke and seeming to muse as to the pros and cons of a shotgun to the mouth or a simple walk off a bridge in order to best slip off this mortal coil.

I tried to explain to her that I’m an extroverted loner and that while hugs are awesome, it was a little presumptuous of her to assume I needed one because really, reading a book and sipping on a cold beverage is a genuine happy place for me.  And not just a happy place, but a damn civilized one at that.

She said “extroverted loner” is a contradiction in terms.

Life, yo.

This entry was posted in Books, Busan, Korea. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

