Against Type

“They put me in honors classes with all the smart kids, and I don’t know if that was my mom up to her old tricks or if that’s where all the Asians just automatically went. Because that’s where I saw all the Asian kids in the school. All three of them. They were quiet and smart and kept to themselves in their own little group. But that wasn’t for me. I didn’t want to be another weird Asian kid in an all-white school, a furry new pet orangutan to look at and poke. So I went on the offense first: I became the class clown. I played dumb and cracked jokes in class. And it worked.

The kids in class thought I was hilarious. Oh shit, did you really just say that!? Yeah, shit, I really did just say that. I was sent to the principal’s office a lot as a result of just saying this and that, but I always exited the classroom to a standing ovation. I was laying tracks in this new town, and I sure as hell was going to make sure everyone could hear my beat.”

Roy Choi, L.A. Son: My Life, My City My Food

Really enjoying this book.  It’s a love letter to a (highly dysfunctional) family, Korean culture, American culture, food, and above all else, Los Angeles.  A fantastic immigrant coming-of-age story.  And every chapter ends with a group of recipes.  How awesome is that?

This entry was posted in America, Books, Food, Korea, Kultur. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Against Type

  1. Niall says:

    An all-white school in LA? heh

Leave a Reply

