Milton Friedman In A Parachute

Since I’ll be flying through San Francisco in a few weeks on my way to visit my family, it’s worth linking to one of my favorite anti-Libertarian screeds of all time — “There Are No Libertarians In Airplanes”:

“Inasmuch as I do not think that uncontrolled flight into terrain at 500 mph is a worthy sacrifice for the glories and benefits of unchained race-to-the-bottom capitalism, I am a liberal. Inasmuch as I don’t want to eat the BSE- and e.coli-laced hamburger that tells us which meat processor is shirking, I’m a liberal. Inasmuch as I don’t want to be the person working in a garment factory for 75 cents per hour when wages devolve to “what the market will bear,” I’m liberal. Inasmuch as I don’t want my dad to be the guy in the coal mine that the defunded Mine Safety & Health Administration hasn’t inspected in 6 years, I’m a liberal. Inasmuch as I care more about you not getting injured at work than about the effect of workplace safety on your boss’s bottom line, I’m a liberal. Inasmuch as I don’t want a terrorist bomb to explode underneath my seat right now because Milton Friedman says the TSA’s should be auctioned off to some politically-connected mall security guard outfit, I’m a liberal.”

Commercial aviation, for all the inconvenience, is a pretty amazing thing.  It’s safe because of effective government regulation, simple as that.  And the world is a much better place because of said government regulation.

This entry was posted in Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

