L.A. Ink Revulsion

Margaret Cho goes to a Korean-style spa in L.A. and gets a lot of nasty looks due to her tattoos:

“I told them that I really wanted to join, but I felt so weird about how I was treated. I told them that Korean culture is one thing, but this place is in Los Angeles. We are not in Korea right now. This is America. And it’s not like I enjoyed looking at their bodies that much. These were all women of various sizes and shapes and some, like me, bore the marks of a difficult life. My tattoos represent much of the pain and suffering I have endured. They are part of me, just like my scars, my fat, my eternal struggle with gravity. None of our bodies are ‘perfect’. We live in them. They aren’t supposed to be ‘perfect’. We are just us, perceived flaws and all. I am just only myself. I like a good scrub and a sauna, especially when you can watch Tiger Woods while it’s all going down.”

I know very little about Korean-American culture, but I was also struck by this — tattoos are so common in America that I can’t imagine how people, even older ones, would be repulsed by them.  Annoyed or bothered maybe, but actually asking for someone to be removed from a spa?  Crazy.

That said I’ve never been to a jimjilbang here in South Korea, despite being told many times that I’m missing out.  I just don’t see the point.  I have a perfectly good shower next to my bedroom.

This entry was posted in America, Korea, Kultur, Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to L.A. Ink Revulsion

  1. Eyagee says:

    The tattoo thing is a left-over impression from by-gone days. Tattoos are no longer regulated to criminals and other ne’er do wells. Sadly, it’s always the older crowd that refuses to grow and mature along with the rest of society. What’s even worse is the hypocracy when you see an older korean women wearing whitening make-up so they can be more ‘western looking’. They simply can’t grasp the idea that a vast majroity of them refuse to be their own person but try to change what they look like severely. Some I’ve seen, have gone over the edge in their whitening make-up to the point of creepieness. I’ve seen dolls that look more life-like that some of these women!

    I too refuse to go to a jimjilbang. I don’t particularily wish to be naked around people I don’t know…well just about anyone that I’m not physically intimate with. (Wanted to make sure I wasn’t implying I get naked with my friends :) ).

  2. The Waiting says:

    Yet it would probably be OK if she had had plastic surgery.

  3. Kokoba says:

    I’ve seen a few tattoos in jjimjilbangs in my day, on Koreans and foreigners alike. It’s a taboo that seems to be slowly eroding.

    What is with you dudes and your aversions about jjimjilbangs? =P You are seriously missing out! If nothing else they’re a great in a pinch when you’ve been stranded by the subway.

Leave a Reply

