Bali: Uluwatu Temple

I love me some Asian temples, but Uluwatu Temple in southern Bali is a bit of a show-off in a very good way.  It’s easily one of the most beautiful places I’ve ever been.

You have to be stoked about a place where you are warned that the resident monkeys will rob you blind if you aren’t careful.  Also, LOL monkey obesity.

My guide explained that this temple was built next to the ocean as a form of protection for the entire island.  I know very little about Hinduism but this seemed to make sense.  Apparently traditional Hinduism had blended a bit with local island lore, which religions tend to do.

There was a festival in progress and an upbeat atmosphere in place.  Honestly, with views like these it’s hard not be to optimistic about things.

Ganesh approves.

Just another day in paradise for most of these folks.  Between this temple and the beaches I visited earlier in the day, it was pretty much my Platonic ideal of an island vacation.  I love you Korea, but I didn’t miss you at all for Chuseok.

This entry was posted in Bali, Photography. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

